Skip To Main Content

Header Utility Navigation

Logo Header

King School

An independent day school educating students PreK-Grade 12

Menu Trigger Container

Top Container


Landing-nav, don't delete

Middle School Celebrates Students at Prize Day and Grade 8 Moving Up Ceremony

Surrounded by proud families and teachers, middle school students celebrated their hard work and academic achievements during Middle School Prize Day and the Grade 8 Moving Up Ceremony. The events took place on the King School campus on Thursday, June 9 and Friday, June 10, respectively. 

“So much has happened since we gathered on the South Field for our opening Ringing of the Bells Ceremony. Students, each of you sitting here has grown, has shined, and has brought your own unique talents and experiences to our community,” said Head of Middle School Josh Deitch as he addressed the students during Prize Day. “You – each of you – make us better, make us stronger, and I am grateful to you,” Deitch added.

“In Middle School you have learned a lot about yourselves; you have encountered passions and interests that you will continue to explore and develop in the Upper School,” said Head of School Carol Maoz in her opening remarks during the Grade 8 Moving Up Ceremony, 

“The Upper School will allow you to go deeper and focus on your interests. Take advantage of all the offerings and opportunities. As you move up to the next division, I ask that you keep focusing on learning and on becoming the best version of yourselves. Keep our virtues at the front and center of every decision you make and you will get it right,” Maoz added.

View photos from Prize Day and the Grade 8 Moving Up Ceremony here

MS Moving Up

Watch Middle School Prize Day Video:

Watch Moving Up Ceremony Video:

Congratulations to all of the award winners! 

Prize Day

Award Winners

The Jean B. Steele Reading Prize goes to that student who not only progressed in their reading skills but has also discovered the joy and excitement of good books. The recipient is Abby Aguilar ’26

The Hermanson Award is presented to the student, in each middle school grade, who has demonstrated the most growth as a learner during the current year. The following students have achieved significant academic growth through personal advocacy and academic commitment. The recipients are Eden Weisel ’28, Christina Stuart ’27, and Isabel Rabina ’26.

The Alexandra Scanlan and Michael Wright Athletic Awards are presented to the top athletes in Grade 8. The Alexandra Scanlon Award recipient is Emily McKee ’26, and the Michael Wright Award recipient is Gidon Genger ’26.

The Malcolm Wilmott Science Prize is awarded to a student in the Middle School who has consistently shown a great effort and dedication to learning and understanding the field of science. The recipient is Kayla Barta ’26.

The American History Bronze Medal is given in recognition of excellence in the study of American history. The recipient is Sophie Fishkin ’26.

The Young Citizenship Award, given by the exchange club of north Stamford, is presented to students in each middle school grade who have ably demonstrated those qualities of conduct that are held in high esteem by young and old alike, and which set a standard which other young people should seek to emulate. These qualities are citizenship, attitude, academics, character, service leadership, and sportsmanship. The recipients are Caroline Castonguay ’28, Lily Schwartz ’28, Zeba Hart-Syed ’28, Caroline Curry ’27, Jaxon Grayson ’27, Camila Pajares ’27, Amy Powell ’26, and Bruno Reinhoefer Ribeiro ’26.

The Lilian S. Fish Prize award is presented to a middle school student who, during the current school year, has shown the most progress both as a scholar and a student. The recipient is Sienna Barlow ’26.

The Merrill Award is presented for academic achievement, thoughtfulness for others, and a sense of responsibility for the school. The recipient is Alexandra Gusinski ’26.

The Dar Patriotism Award is awarded to a middle school student who, by personal acts and attitudes, has proven to be the most outstanding citizen. The requirements are based upon honor, service, courage, leadership, and patriotism. The recipient this year is Benjamin Hugon ’26.

The Class Prize is presented to a student in each grade who best represents the values that the school upholds. Among these values are academic achievement, co-curricular involvement, personal integrity, leadership, and loyalty to the school. The recipients are Theodore Zhang ’28, Samantha Tillman’27, and Hathaway Liparidis ’26.