Skip To Main Content

Header Utility Navigation

Logo Header

King School

An independent day school educating students PreK-Grade 12

Menu Trigger Container

Top Container


Landing-nav, don't delete

Middle School Excellence Recognized at Prize Day

The Middle School celebrated the impressive achievements of its students with the annual Prize Day ceremony on Thursday, June 6. Congratulations to all of these outstanding students. 

Award Recipients

The Jean B. Steele Reading Prize goes to that student who not only progressed in their reading skills but has also discovered the joy and excitement of good books. The recipient is Leila DeSimone ’28. 

The Hermanson Award is presented to the student in Grades 6 and 7 who has demonstrated the most growth as a learner during the current year. The following students have achieved significant academic growth through personal advocacy and academic commitment. The recipients are Alessia Arango ’30 and Terrielle Maltese ’29.

The Alexandra Scanlan and Michael Wright Athletic Awards are presented to the top athletes in Grade 8. The Alexandra Scanlon Award recipient is Ava Pufko ’28, and the Michael Wright Award recipient is Kiran Vasisht ’28.

Malcolm Wilmott Prize for Academic Excellence is named for Malcolm Wilmott, who served as a teacher of English and science and the head of the Middle School. This prize is awarded to the middle school student who has consistently shown extraordinary effort and dedication to their studies and who demonstrates that the goal of learning is to understand ourselves and the world around us better and that the process of learning is never complete. The recipients are Evan Minaidis ’28 and Jiya Dohil ’28.

The Young Citizenship Award, given by the exchange club of North Stamford, is presented to students in each middle school grade who have ably demonstrated those qualities of conduct that are held in high esteem by young and old alike and which set a standard that other young people should seek to emulate. These qualities are citizenship, attitude, academics, character, service leadership, and sportsmanship. The recipients are Quinn Stein ’30, Rett Oswald ’30, Owen Saragoussi ’29, Camille Bley ’29, Jordyn Rivera ’29, Charlie Peters ’28, and Lily Schwartz ’28.

The Lilian S. Fish Prize award is presented to a middle school student who has shown the most progress during the current school year as a scholar and a student. The recipient is Lucy Constas ’28.

The Merrill Award is presented for academic achievement, thoughtfulness for others, and a sense of responsibility for the school. The recipient is Vikrant Krishnan ’28.

The Class Prize is presented to a student in each grade who best represents the King School values. Among these values are academic achievement, co-curricular involvement, personal integrity, leadership, and loyalty to the school. The recipients are Carolina Reinhoefer Ribeiro ’30, Audrey Asnes ’29, and Oliver Lacour ’28.

Watch the Middle School Prize Assembly on YouTube here.