Meet the Team

This DEI Team supports colleagues in making our curriculum, pedagogy/coaching, and school culture a reflection of our commitment to inclusive excellence (IE) in providing access to and delivering a high quality education for all students. The concept of IE has taken shape over the past decade in some of the most renowned higher education institutions, which provided a launching pad that attracted talented students from our diverse, global world and produced innovative research and learning.  This framework entails intentional and ongoing work that fosters respect for and knowledge of varied cultures, perspectives, and identities so that schools, students, families, faculty, and staff can thrive. Defining inclusive excellence at King is essential for achieving the goals of our Strategic Plan - it is a need-to-have, not a nice-to-have.  The DEI Team partners with constituencies across our PreK-Grade 12 community to develop and implement initiatives that increase our collective cross-cultural competence, skills that we all need in order to provide high quality education, coaching, and professionalism for the 21st century.  Areas of focus include racial, global, and gender literacies, as well as increasing our consciousness of how ability, socio-economic status, belief and other areas of diversity or inequity impact childhood/adolescent development and workplace culture.

Dr. Clyde Beverly

Dr. Clyde Beverly III
Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
cbeverly@kingschoolct.org

Cara Grimaldi

Cara Welch
Performing Arts Faculty, Lower School DEI Coordinator
cwelch@kingschoolct.org

Stephanie Hoos

Stephanie Hoos
English Faculty, Middle School DEI Coordinator
shoos@kingschoolct.org

Lindsay Stone

Lindsay Stone
English Faculty, Upper School Humanities DEI Coordinator
lstone@kingschoolct.org

Elisa Shapiro

Elisa Shapiro
Innovation Lab Director, Upper School DEI Coordinator: Computer Science and Digital Applications, Social Sciences, Performing Arts and Visual Arts and Design
eshapiro@kingschoolct.org

Rebaca Varghese

Rebaca Varghese
Science Faculty, Grade 9 Dean, All-School Science and Computer Science and Digital Applications
rvarghese@kingschoolct.org

Nate Jean Baptiste

Sara O'Toole
Mathematics Faculty, All-School Mathematics DEI Coordinator
sotoole@kingschoolct.org

Nate Jean Baptiste

Nate Jean-Baptise
Head Boys Basketball Coach, All-School Athletics DEI Coordinator
njeanbaptiste@kingschoolct.org